CTF name: Fish On
Family Members: Wife Deanna, Daughter Valerie, Nephew Tim
Current City: Milford

1. You've fished a lot of shark tournaments over the years. How many tournaments have you placed in? How many have you won?
I've been fishing shark tournaments since 1986. I have won 1st place 9 times / 2nd place 3 times / 3rd place 5 times.

First place blue shark in the 2006 Montauk Marine Basin Tournament.

2. You hold the CT state thresher record (467 pounds). Tell us about that catch.
I was fishing the Star Island Mako Thresher Tournament the summer of 2006. We landed the Thresher and made it back to the weigh in by 15 minutes. We not only had the state record with a 467-lb. Thresher, but we won 1st 2nd and 3rd place. We had to run the shark back to CT to be eligible for the state record. The summer of 2005 we landed a 522-lb. Thresher, but lost the state record because we stayed overnight in NY.

467-lb. thresher.

3. Do you have any memorable fish that got away stories from the tournaments?
We were fishing in the Montauk Marine Basin Tournament and 2 of our crew had to cancel due to family emergency. So my brother and I went at it alone. Luck would have it that we hooked the largest sharks ever. We fought a Thresher that we estimated to be 600 lbs for 5 hours and 20 minutes. Then the leader broke in our hands.

4. How did you first get interested in fishing?
My father was a well known fisherman in his day and he had my brother and I going since we could walk.

5. Your brother owns Hiller Hunting & Fishing in Norwalk. What about being in the fishing tackle business might surprise people?
The fishing business is a long hour, cut throat business. You really have to love being around the sport to survive.

6. You were a state instructor for the bow hunting course. Do you think interest in hunting will ever increase in our state?
I would say archery hunting has grown quite a bit. But over all I think hunting has slacked off a little in the past few years.