CTF Name: STRIPMINER
Current location: Greenwich, CT
Family: Wife, Sharon, Thomas (6), Lindsay (4)

1. Where does your screen name "Stripminer" come from?
"Stripminer" is a hunting nickname I earned from a friend who has since passed on at an all too early age. My friend Pete Calo dubbed me the "stripminer" after a particularly good hunting year when I killed every deer that walked by me. On a truck ride back after hunting with Leadpipe and I, Pete accused me of "depleting Mother Nature of her natural resources" and then said "This dude is a stripminer!" Pete, sadly died about 12 years ago while in his thirties from non-Hodgkins Lymphoma. He was a funny and observant guy, who is missed.

10-pointer.

2. How long have you been a police officer, and what got you interested in that kind of work?
I have been a police officer for just over 18 years now. I never had the calling to law enforcement until I was about 18 years old and a friend got a summer job working as a “Summer Special” with the Greenwich Police Department (my hometown). He worked at the local beaches and we saw him whenever we went swimming, it looked like a cool job and I got hired the next summer. I went on to graduate college with a business degree but I started taking police exams. I was hired as a police officer in 1989, basically right out of my Alma Mater; CCSU.

3. As a police officer, you've surely encountered some very nice people, as well as some bad people. Tell us a memorable experience about dealing with each kind of person.
People for the most part are good. Some commit crimes due to poverty or addictions but some simply do not have a belief system and lack any morals or conscience.