39-7/8" pike, just under 20 lbs.

CTF name: CWood Man
Current city: Brookfield, CT
Hometown: Newtown, CT
Family members: ife Suezy, Dogs- Zeus and Holly, Cat- Striper, Horse- Savanah

1. You're always smiling in your reports and at the outings. What is your secret or advice to finding happiness in life?
I honestly live my life to the fullest and day to day. Why be miserable in life? I feel smiling is contagious. I just like having a good time and like showing people a good time. I truly love fishing and I feel like when I am fishing it is my sanctuary. I really feel at home on the water and I see myself doing this for a living one day!

2. You've posted a variety of fishing reports, including ice-fishing, saltwater and freshwater. Do you have a favorite kind of fishing?
I like all fishing but the salt is my favorite. That is the main reason I bought a new salt boat in September. People think I am nuts living on Candlewood Lake and driving an hour to the salt but until there are hybrid stripers in the lake, I am making the drive -- plus I love the taste of fluke!

3. You live near and fish Candlewood Lake. In your opinion, why do you think the trout catches are down? Is it a case of them moving to deeper water, dying off, or is it that catches are just going unreported?
I have fished the lake for 30 years. There was a huge kill in the summer of 2005. To many weeds and warm temps depleted the oxygen levels. In Hollywyle Cove there were around 50 dead trout floating or on the bottom that summer. This past year the Valley Angler only weighed in 2 trout over 5 pounds. Usually he weighs in over 20. My late spring holes that ALWAYS produce big trout on the Maribou Jig were empty!

4. You burst onto the CTF scene with some great Candlewood Lake perch ice-fishing reports. What are your tips for finding and catching monster perch through the ice at Candlewood?